top of page
Search
  • Terri

Life in the Time of Corona

Today (20th March) is International Day of Happiness, otherwise known as day 4 of my self-isolation.

I want to start by saying that I am fine, no symptoms of the dreaded coronavirus; I’m having to self-isolate because my immune system is faulty, landing me the unenviable title of ‘vulnerable’. The decision has also been made for me and my colleagues to work from home where possible in order to help minimise the spread and flatten the curve.


Now several people who know me have made similar jokes about how this must be like Christmas for me, finally a legitimate excuse to not be around people, no social obligations. For a devoted introvert like myself who doesn’t exactly have a bustling social life (I have regularly referred to myself as a ‘functioning hermit’), it certainly sounds nice.


But here I am, coming up to the end of my fourth day in isolation, and it has not been fun. In fact, there have been moments where it has been awful (but I am coping, sticking to a new routine, finding comfort in the little things, etc.). And I have a feeling that it will continue to be a struggle. I can only imagine how hard this is for people who are extroverts, who have a house full of children they have to keep entertained and safe, who actually have a rich and full social life that they are now missing out on.

If it’s a struggle for me, I can only imagine it’s torture for you.


But it’s what we must do to beat this. Through self-isolation and social distancing, we are giving the NHS, CDC and WHO a fighting chance to beat the coronavirus and save lives.


The uncertainty sucks. The anxiety sucks. But we each need to do our bit now to protect those who need

protecting, to take some of the strain off the hospitals, to bring an end to this sooner rather than later.




79 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page